Lorrie Wilkes and Ford Daley at the Pie Event October 2021

Thank you to all the volunteers who have lent a hand!

Over the last several years, volunteers have helped with: mailings, grant writing, fundraising, installing basement insulation, cutting dead trees, removing old tangled wire fencing, replacing sheep fence, mowing the lawn, raking, seeding and mulching, digging out blackberry bushes, getting rid of poison ivy, weed whacking, painting, wiping down walls, washing woodwork, vacuuming and washing floors, removing old mouse nests, organizing events, consulting, planting and helping in many other ways!

We invite you to help bring the Schoolhouse back to life by supporting it with your time, talent, ideas, and energy. If you would like to join us, please send an email to: vtrootschoolhouse@gmail.com.

Volunteers have included: Roger Arnold, Alan Berolzheimer, Samantha Candon, Heidi and Brendan Classon, Bill Clauson, Nancy Cressman, Christine Crandell, Brian Cook, Bridget Cushman, Ford Daley, Cedar Davidson, Paul Derksen, Courtney Dobyns, Angela Evancie, Chad Finer, Leah Fosco, Ellen Hobson, Brucie Hubbell, Lori Jannen, Tom Johnson, JoAnn Clauson Joy, Holly Kania, Rye Keller, Joyce Knights, Nancy LaRowe, Barbara Landau, Jean Lawe, John Lawe, Stephen Lawe, Spencer Lawe, Mary Layton, Nathan Margolis, Eli Mintz, Leslie O’Hara of Hogwash Farm, Nancy Osgood, Morgan Peach, Patty Piotrowski, David Sargent, Sam Scheu, Cindy Shannon, Anne Shivas, Tricia Spellman, Brie and Jeff Swenson, David Taplin, Betsy Vereckey, Carla Vincent, Suzie Wallis, Heidi Webster, Jim Westrich, Lorrie Wilkes and Red Clover, Andrew Winter, Leah Wolk-Derksen, Dave Yesman and Derek Yesman

Thanks to the leaders and volunteers of the Root Schoolhouse over the years: Jean and George Astley, Wendy Beck, Peter Brink, Ken and Lisa Cadow, Brian Cook, Irma Cook, Ruth and Sidney Cook, Kristen Graham and Tom Hulleberg, Calvin and Joyce Knights, Barbara, Robert and Fred Ladd, John and Jean Lawe, Suzanne Lupien, Deb Martins, John Vincent, Suzie Wallis, and the Boy Scouts.  There have been many many more people since 1952 not mentioned here but all are deeply appreciated!  Some of those individuals are gone but not forgotten.

The Root Schoolhouse Board, May 2021

2021 Board Members: (Front row, R-L): Courtney Dobyns, President; Jean Law; Mary Layton, Vice-President. (Back Row, R-L): John Lawe; Nancy Cressman; Tricia Spellman, Treasurer; Carla Vincent, Secretary; Nancy LaRowe. (Not pictured: Suzie Wallis and new board member Holly Kania)

A special thanks to the present and past members of the board who have dedicated their time and energy to the restoration project.

2023 Board Members: Nancy LaRowe and Mary Layton, Co-Presidents; Nancy Cressman, Vice President; Holly Kania, Secretary; Tricia Spellman, out-going Treasurer; Christine Crandell, in-coming Treasurer; Courtney Dobyns, Past President; Barbara Landau; David Sargent; Betsy Vereckey.